Alltogether

AAC, AT, Families, Inclusion, Literacy, UDL

Writing Block

I remember vividly last summer when one of my students came into summer camp with a message for me. She told me that the beans we had planted in the spring, had grown well and that she ate some of them through her tube the night before. Not only did I think it was one of the coolest things in the world that she had been able to fulfill the lesson more than I could have dreamed, but it struck something deeper in me.

I have had that same feeling last week in my writing block. We all have thoughts of things we have read or heard in our minds at one time or another. For me when I teach, for the last few months, I have had Karen Erickson’s words in my mind regarding good teaching, being prepared, and having a terrific lesson plan. She spoke about how it frees you to teach well.  Very simply it feels good to become more effective in my practice, so that I can see the smiles on my students faces and see that they are truly learning.   I realize that very similar to my students learning best when they are having fun and are prepared, I too am experiencing the benefits of enjoying the learing process and being increasingly more competent as a teacher.  A final thought that summarizes this is that my students love writing block and I love teaching it!

March 14, 2007 - Posted by | AAC, Assistive Technology, AT, Literacy, Special Education

1 Comment »

  1. Sam – It’s really inspiring to see how all of your thinking is pulling together. I love the story about your student’s seeds growing. It’s really nice to see these connections. Good luck with your blog. I’m sure you’ll find some wonderful reflective opportunities.

    Comment by madalainepugliese | March 16, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

